Members of the Confidentiality Commission

In accordance with paragraph 23 of the Confidentiality Annex to the Convention and Rule 2(b) of the Operating Procedures of the Confidentiality Commission (C-III/DEC.10/Rev.2 - PDF 68 KB), the Conference elected the following 17 members of the Confidentiality Commission for a term of two years:


  • Minister Desire Jean Claude Owono Menguele (Cameroon) - Vice-Chairperson
  • Dr Ahmed Muftah Ruhuma Naili (Libya)
  • Colonel Wagane Faye (Senegal)
  • Mr Yasir Abdalla Abdelsalam Ahmed (Sudan)


  • Dr Ze Zhang (China) - Vice-Chairperson
  • Professor Djamchid Momtaz (Iran)
  • Mr Ere Haru (Japan)
  • Mr Alok Chaturvedi (India)

Eastern Europe

  • Ambassador Nineta Bărbulescu (Romania) - Vice-Chairperson
  • Mr Štĕpán Kochanek (Czech Republic)
  • Mr Denis Zhuykov (Russian Federation)
  • Ms Lachezara Stoeva (Bulgaria)

Latin America and the Caribbean

  • Minister Sergio Pérez Gunella (Argentina) - Vice-Chairperson
  • Lieutenant Colonel Ramiro Eduardo Calderon de la Riva Lazcano (Bolivia)
  • Mr Camilo Sanhueza Bezanilla (Chile)
  • Ambassador Gaston Lasarte (Uruguay)

Western European and other States

  • Professor Ioannis Seimenis (Greece) - Chairperson
  • Professor Dieter Umbach (Germany)
  • Mr Irvin Høyland (Norway)
  • Professor Lucas Osborn (United States of America)


OPCW Policy on Confidentiality
[PDF - 253 KB]