OPCW-The Hague Award

A Lasting Legacy  

The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2013 in recognition of its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons. 

To honour this achievement, the OPCW established the OPCW-The Hague Award in 2014 in partnership with the Municipality of The Hague. 

The Award 

The OPCW-The Hague Award recognises the numerous stakeholders, including academia, researchers, the chemical industry, international and regional organisations, and civil society, who make outstanding contributions to achieving a world free of chemical weapons. 

Recipients of the award receive a medallion, a certificate, and a share of the €90,000 award fund.


Qualified nominations are assessed by a selection panel comprised of the OPCW Director-General, the Mayor of The Hague, the Chairperson of the OPCW Executive Council, the President of the International Council of Chemical Associations (ICCA), and the President of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).

Full details are available on the call for nominations page

Award ceremony 

The OPCW-The Hague Award is presented by the Director-General of the OPCW and the Mayor of The Hague at the OPCW Conference of the States Parties (held annually in late November or early December). Successful recipients are invited to accept the award in person in The Hague, Netherlands.

View past ceremonies

Make a nomination

The deadline for nominations for the 2024 award is 31 July 2024. 

Read the call for nominations and make a nomination here 

Previous Recipients

Past recipients include experts in analytical chemistry, medical toxicology and the ethical use of chemistry, as well as CWC negotiators, civil society advocates and first-response training institutes.  

Learn more

Partnership with the Municipality of The Hague 

The €90,000 prize is jointly supported by the OPCW and the Municipality of The Hague, international city of peace and justice.