OPCW-The Hague Award
Past recipients

The OPCW-The Hague Award celebrates significant achievements toward a world free of chemical weapons. 

Learn about past award recipients below and watch each past award ceremony.

Winners of the 2023 OPCW-The Hague Award

Mr Hubert Foy, Director of the African Center for Science and International Security, is an advocate for chemical security and national implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention in Africa. He has developed training courses for various stakeholders, including under-represented communities, to raise awareness of issues related to implementation the Convention.

Spiez Laboratory has made significant contributions to advancing arms control and international security through science, research, and analysis. The laboratory has been recognised for its high analytical proficiency as an OPCW designated laboratory and has been a key contributor to the OPCW Central Analytical Database — the Organisation’s reference library of chemical data. In addition, the laboratory provides trainings for inspectors and first responders around the world to enhance chemical safety and security. 

Dr Syeda Sultana Razia, Professor at Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, is an experienced educator in the peaceful uses of chemistry, particularly in chemical safety and security. She has boosted awareness of chemical hazards across Asia among students and other stakeholders. She has also advised the Government of Bangladesh on chemical safety standards in Bangladesh and served on the OPCW Scientific Advisory Board.

Winners of the 2022 OPCW-The Hague Award

Special Risks Brigade of the Federal Police of Argentina (BRE) are specialists in CBRN threat rapid response and evidence gathering. BRE also provides training programmes that have benefited over 800 regional experts.  

Population Protection Institute (PPI), Fire Rescue Service of the Czech Republic has extensive expertise in providing trainings in the field of preparedness in the case of chemical incidents and emergencies around the globe. To date, the Institute has trained more than 600 experts on a wide range of CBRNe topics. 

Chemical Weapons Convention Coalition (CWCC) is an independent, international civil society network with more than 200 members from diverse organisations around the world to support the aims of the CWC and to supplement the efforts of OPCW Member States in implementing the Chemical Weapons Convention  

Winners of the 2019 OPCW-The Hague Award

Dr Robert Mikulak is an eminent expert on chemical and biological weapons arms control, Dr Mikulak has made substantial contributions to chemical disarmament through his extensive involvement in the negotiations of the CWC, and his work as the US representative to the OPCW Preparatory Committee. 

Mr Cheng Tang was involved in the text negotiations of the CWC in Geneva from 1990 to 1992 as well as the removal and destruction of Syria’s chemical weapons. Mr Tang has actively worked for the goal of a world free of chemical weapons 

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is an international federation of chemists that was established in 1919. Consisting of members, associates, and affiliate institutions from around the world, the organisation played an instrumental role in the development and promotion of The Hague Ethical Guidelines on Chemistry. 

Winners of the 2017 OPCW-The Hague Award

The African Centre for the Study and Research on Terrorism (ACSRT) is a structure of the African Union Commission, ACSRT contributes to and strengthens the capacity of the African Union to prevent and to CBRNe terrorism in Africa. 

International Master Courses in Protection Against CBRNe Events at the University of Rome Tor Vergata the master courses from the Department of Biomedicine and Prevention contribute to the promotion of the peaceful uses of chemistry among a new generation of CBRNe experts. 

Winners of the 2015 OPCW-The Hague Award

Professor Mahdi Balali-Mood is an eminent expert in the field of medical toxicology. He has dedicated his career to caring and advocating for the victims of chemical weapons. 

Professor Alastair Hay is a leading expert in the field of occupational health and toxicology. His extensive knowledge of the toxic properties of chemical warfare agents has proved invaluable in supporting the work of the OPCW and its core objectives. 

Winners of the 2014 OPCW-The Hague Award

Dr Robert Mathews has made significant contributions throughout his career to the development, establishment, implementation and promotion of the Chemical Weapons Convention; and furthermore, to the work of the OPCW from its inception. 

VERIFIN is an institute at the University of Helsinki. Since its establishment in 1995, VERIFIN has significantly contributed to chemical disarmament through the development analytical chemistry based tools for verification of the CWC. 

Photo gallery