个人简介

禁化武组织总干事 阿赫迈特•尤祖姆居先生阁下

阿赫迈特·尤祖姆居先生阁下由《化学武器公约》缔约国大会第十四届会议于2009年12月任命为禁化武组织总干事,并于2010年7月25日开始其第一个任期。2013年12月,经缔约国大会第十八届会议的重新任命,他连任总干事。在被任命为禁化武组织总干事之前,他担任土耳其共和国常驻联合国日内瓦办事处的代表。

尤祖姆居大使是一位在多边外交领域拥有丰富经验的职业外交家。在过去的十年中,他担任过土耳其常驻北大西洋公约组织(北约)理事会、裁军谈判会议以及联合国和其他国际组织日内瓦办事处的代表。尤祖姆居大使曾于2008年3月担任过4周的裁军谈判会议的主席,并参加了在日内瓦、布鲁塞尔及其他地方召开的各种与裁军有关的会议和大会。他对政治-军事事务、裁军和不扩散问题有透彻的了解,且拥有关于这些领域的丰富的专业知识。

更早的时候,尤祖姆居大使曾在土耳其外交部担任负责双边政治事务的副国务秘书帮办。2002年6月至2004年8月,他出任土耳其常驻在布鲁塞尔的北约理事会的代表。1999年至2002年,他担任土耳其驻以色列大使。1996年至1999年,他在安卡拉担任外交部的人事司司长。在此之前,他在外交部、土耳其常驻北约代表团(1986年 — 1989年)、土耳其在维也纳的大使馆(1979年 — 1982年)出任过不同职务,并在叙利亚的阿勒颇(1982年 — 1984年)担任过领事。

除了拥有外交经验之外,尤祖姆居大使在1989年至1994年间以国际职员的身份任职于北约的政治司。在此期间,他为北约在冷战刚结束时就和平伙伴关系的倡议所开展的工作做了贡献,并对东欧各国和前苏联作了广泛的出访。

尤祖姆居大使于1951年8月30日出生在土耳其的阿尔穆特卢,拥有安卡拉大学政治学学院公共管理专业的国际关系学士学位。他操流利的英语和法语。已婚,有一女。

尤祖姆居大使于2013年12月代表禁化武组织领取了2013年诺贝尔和平奖。2014年1月,他被意大利的博洛尼亚大学授予荣誉勋章和国玺。2015年12月,法国外交和国际发展部长洛朗·法比尤斯先生阁下向尤祖姆居总干事授予了“荣誉军团”勋章(军官军衔)。

Biography

OPCW Director-General H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü

H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü was appointed Director-General of the OPCW in December 2009 by the Conference of the States Parties at its Fourteenth Session and began his first term of office on 25 July 2010. He was reappointed for a second term by the Conference of the States Parties at its Eighteenth Session, in December 2013. Immediately prior to his appointment as OPCW Director-General, he served as the Permanent Representative of the Republic of Turkey to the United Nations Office at Geneva.

Ambassador Üzümcü is a career diplomat with vast experience in multilateral diplomacy. During the past decade he has represented Turkey at the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Council, the Conference on Disarmament, the United Nations and other international organisations in Geneva. Ambassador Üzümcü chaired the Conference on Disarmament for four weeks in March 2008 and attended various disarmament-related meetings and conferences in Geneva, Brussels and elsewhere. He has a thorough understanding of and considerable expertise in political-military affairs, disarmament and proliferation issues.

Previously, Ambassador Üzümcü served as Deputy Undersecretary of State for Bilateral Political Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Turkey. From June 2002 to August 2004, he was the Permanent Representative of Turkey to the NATO Council in Brussels. He held the post of Ambassador of Turkey to Israel from 1999 to 2002. From 1996 to 1999, he headed the Personnel Department at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Ankara. Prior to that, he served in various posts at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs as well as at the Turkish delegation to NATO (1986-1989), the Turkish Embassy in Vienna (1979-1982) and as a Consul in Aleppo(1982-1984).

In addition to his diplomatic experience, Ambassador Üzümcü served in an international capacity as a staff member of NATO’s Political Directorate from 1989 to 1994, where he contributed to work on NATO’s Partnership for Peace initiative in the immediate aftermath of the Cold War and travelled extensively in Eastern European countries and the former Soviet Union.

Ambassador Üzümcü was born in Armutlu, Turkey, on 30 August 1951 and holds a bachelor's degree in international relations with a specialisation in public administration from the Faculty of Political Sciences, Ankara University. He speaks English and French fluently, is married and has a daughter.

Ambassador Üzümcü received the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the OPCW in December 2013. In January 2014, he was awarded the Medaglia d’Onore and the Sigillum Magnum by the University of Bologna in Italy. In December 2015, H.E. Mr Laurent Fabius, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development of France, decorated Director-General Üzümcü with the Légion d'honneur (rank of officer).

Upcoming

86th Session of the Executive Council:
10 - 13 October 2017