السيرة الذاتية

مدير عام منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيمائية, سعادة السفير أحمد اوزمجو

عُيّن السيد أحمد أُزومجو في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2009 خلال مؤتمر الدول الأطراف في دورته الرابعة عشرة مديرًا عامًا لمنظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية، وبدأ مدة خدمته الأولى في 25 تموز/يوليه 2010. وأعاد مؤتمر الدول الأطراف تعيينه لمدة خدمة ثانية خلال دورته الثامنة عشرة في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2013. وكان قُبيل تعيينه في هذا المنصب يتولّى مهام الممثل الدائم لجمهورية تركيا لدى مكتب الأمم المتحدة في جنيف.


والسفير أُزومجو دبلوماسيٌّ متمرّس ذو خبرة واسعة في مجال الدبلوماسية المتعدّدة الأطراف. وخلال العقد الماضي، مثـّل تركيا لدى مجلس منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي (حلف الناتو)، ومؤتمر نزع السلاح، والأمم المتحدة وسائر المنظمات الدولية القائمة في جنيف. وتولّى السفير أُزومجو رئاسة مؤتمر نزع السلاح لفترة أربعة أسابيع في آذار/مارس 2008، وشارك في اجتماعات ومؤتمرات شتّى متصلة بنزع السلاح عُقدت في جنيف وبروكسل وأماكن أخرى. وهو يتمتّع بفهم عميق وبخبرة واسعة في الشؤون السياسية-العسكرية والمسائل المتصلة بنزع السلاح والانتشار.


وتولّى السفير أُزومجو في السابق مهامّ نائب وكيل وزارة الخارجية للشؤون السياسية الثنائية في وزارة الشؤون الخارجية بتركيا. وعمل، من حزيران/يونيه 2002 إلىآب/أغسطس 2004، ممثلاً دائما لتركيا لدى مجلس حلف الناتو في بروكسل. وتبوّأ منصب سفير تركيا لدى إسرائيل من عام 1999 إلى عام 2002. وتولّى، من عام 1996 إلى عام 1999، رئاسة إدارة شؤون العاملين في وزارة الشؤون الخارجية في أنقرا. وعمل قبل ذلك في مناصب متعدّدة في وزارة الشؤون الخارجية وكذلك ضمن الوفد التركي لدى حلف الناتو (1986 - 1989) وفي سفارة تركيا في فيينا (1979 - 1982) وبصفة قنصل في حلب (1982 - 1984).
وإضافةً إلى الخدمة الدبلوماسية، شغل السفير أُزومجو وظيفةً دولية في مديرية الشؤون السياسية التابعة لحلف الناتو من عام 1989 إلى عام 1994، حيث ساهم في العمل على تحقيق مبادرة حلف الناتو المسمّاة الشراكة من أجل السلام التي أُطلِقت في أعقاب الحرب الباردة مباشرة، وقام بزيارات عديدة إلى بلدان أوروبا الشرقية والاتحاد السوفياتي سابقًا.


وُلد السفير أُزومجو في أرموتلو، بتركيا، في 30 آب/أغسطس 1951؛ وهو يحمل درجة بكالوريوس في العلاقات الدولية، مع تخصُّص في الإدارة العامة، من كلية العلوم السياسية في جامعة أنقرا. ويتكلّم السفير أُزومجو اللغتين الإنكليزية والفرنسية بطلاقة؛ وهو متزوّج ولديه ابنة.
واستلم السفير أُزومجو في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2013 جائزة نوبل للسلام لعام 2013 باسم منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية. ومنحته جامعة بولونيا، بإيطاليا، وسام الشرف "Medaglia d’Onore" ووسام الختم الأعظم "Sigillum Magnum". وفي كانون الأول /ديسمبر 2015، منح معالي السيد لوران فابيوس، وزير الخارجية والتنمية الدولية في فرنسا، السفير أزومجو وسام الشرف "Légion d'honneur" (برتبة ضابط).

Biography

OPCW Director-General H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü

H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü was appointed Director-General of the OPCW in December 2009 by the Conference of the States Parties at its Fourteenth Session and began his first term of office on 25 July 2010. He was reappointed for a second term by the Conference of the States Parties at its Eighteenth Session, in December 2013. Immediately prior to his appointment as OPCW Director-General, he served as the Permanent Representative of the Republic of Turkey to the United Nations Office at Geneva.

Ambassador Üzümcü is a career diplomat with vast experience in multilateral diplomacy. During the past decade he has represented Turkey at the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Council, the Conference on Disarmament, the United Nations and other international organisations in Geneva. Ambassador Üzümcü chaired the Conference on Disarmament for four weeks in March 2008 and attended various disarmament-related meetings and conferences in Geneva, Brussels and elsewhere. He has a thorough understanding of and considerable expertise in political-military affairs, disarmament and proliferation issues.

Previously, Ambassador Üzümcü served as Deputy Undersecretary of State for Bilateral Political Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Turkey. From June 2002 to August 2004, he was the Permanent Representative of Turkey to the NATO Council in Brussels. He held the post of Ambassador of Turkey to Israel from 1999 to 2002. From 1996 to 1999, he headed the Personnel Department at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Ankara. Prior to that, he served in various posts at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs as well as at the Turkish delegation to NATO (1986-1989), the Turkish Embassy in Vienna (1979-1982) and as a Consul in Aleppo(1982-1984).

In addition to his diplomatic experience, Ambassador Üzümcü served in an international capacity as a staff member of NATO’s Political Directorate from 1989 to 1994, where he contributed to work on NATO’s Partnership for Peace initiative in the immediate aftermath of the Cold War and travelled extensively in Eastern European countries and the former Soviet Union.

Ambassador Üzümcü was born in Armutlu, Turkey, on 30 August 1951 and holds a bachelor's degree in international relations with a specialisation in public administration from the Faculty of Political Sciences, Ankara University. He speaks English and French fluently, is married and has a daughter.

Ambassador Üzümcü received the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the OPCW in December 2013. In January 2014, he was awarded the Medaglia d’Onore and the Sigillum Magnum by the University of Bologna in Italy. In December 2015, H.E. Mr Laurent Fabius, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development of France, decorated Director-General Üzümcü with the Légion d'honneur (rank of officer).

Upcoming

86th Session of the Executive Council:
10 - 13 October 2017