OPCW-The Hague Award 2019

  • 1 Current: Criteria
  • 2 Nominated Candidate
  • 3 Nominator
  • 4 References
  • 5 Reason for Nomination
  • 6 Complete

Deadline – 1 November 2019

Only completed submissions received on or before 23:59 on 1 November 2019 will be considered by the Selection Panel. Applicants will receive a confirmation upon receipt of the submission.  

Successful applicants and nominees will be informed of the Selection Panel’s decision in mid-November 2019. They will be invited to attend the award ceremony, to be held on 25 November 2019 in The Hague, the Netherlands.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Citizens of States Parties and not-for-profit, non-governmental organisations registered in any OPCW Member State are eligible to apply or be nominated.
  2. Applications can be submitted by eligible individuals/organisations or by a third party, acting as nominator.
  3. Current personnel of the OPCW Technical Secretariat and Delegations of Member States to the Organisation are not eligible to receive an award.
  4. Former personnel of the OPCW Technical Secretariat who have completed three years following their separation from the Organisation are eligible. The same three-year rule shall apply to former personnel of Member States’ Delegations to the Organisation.

The Selection Panel

A panel composed of the following members (Ex Officio) will select the winners of the Award:

  • Director General of the OPCW (Chair),
  • Chairperson of the Executive Council,
  • Mayor of The Hague,
  • President of the International Council of Chemical Associations (ICCA), and,
  • President of International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).

The Selection Panel will be assisted by a Secretary (appointed by the Director-General). In discharging its duties the Panel may draw upon the expertise of Technical Secretariat personnel or external experts (as appropriate).

The Panel reserves the right to make one or more awards, or none at all.

Help us improve OPCW.org