Advisory Board on Education and Outreach
Supporting the OPCW’s engagement with external partners

The Advisory Board on Education and Outreach (ABEO) provides specialised advice in areas of education and outreach relevant to the OPCW’s mandate.

Its goal is to ensure that the Organisation’s education and outreach activities, and those of States Parties, are effective, sustainable, cost-effective, and benefit from the latest advances in education and outreach theory or practice. Such advice may be provided to the Director-General, to the policy-making organs and, at their request, to States Parties.

The ABEO provides advice on the development of education and outreach strategies, key messages and partnerships that support the implementation of the Convention. The board also identifies global education and outreach activities relevant to the Convention and those related to disarmament and non-proliferation. The specialised advice that the board provides is with the goal of making education materials accessible to audiences in order to benefit the broadest range of target stakeholders.

The OPCW Advisory Board on Education and Outreach (ABEO)

The OPCW Advisory Board on Education and Outreach

A Group of Independent Experts

ABEO members serve in a personal capacity (not as representatives of their respective governments) and  serve no more than two three-year terms, which may be consecutive. The chair and vice-chair are elected by the members of the ABEO.

The Board is made up of 15 independent experts in subjects including education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and other relevant disciplines, science communication, the chemical industry, dual/multiple-use issues related to chemistry and the life sciences, ethics and the Convention, and related international measures.


  • Dr Adriana Bernacchi (Argentina)
  • Dr Craig Cormick (Australia)
  • Dr Jean-Pascal Zanders (Belgium)
  • Dr Johannes Georg Weinig (Germany)
  • Prof. Rocael Hernández Rizzardini (Guatemala)
  • Prof. Vijay Raghavan Krishnaswamy (India)
  • Prof. Tatsuya Abe (Japan)
  • Ms Gaukhar Mukhatzhanova (Kazakhstan)
  • Dr Austin Aluoch (Kenya)
  • Prof. Mohd Jamil Bin Maah (Malaysia)
  • Prof. Fatima Lamchouri (Morocco)
  • Mr Shahabud Din (Pakistan)
  • Dr Anna Zalewska (Poland)
  • Prof. Alastair Hay (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
  • Dr Jo Husbands (United States of America)

Help us improve