OPCW staff members.

The staff members of the Secretariat are assigned to one of nine divisions, each of which is headed by a director. The Director-General, with the assistance of the Deputy Director-General, supervise all the divisions.






The Administration Division is responsible for assuring the effective management of the financial and human resources, information technology, procurement, support services and training functions within the Technical Secretariat (TS). The division is the largest component of the TS, with the exception of the Inspectorate Division. It is comprised of five complementary branches and around 100 staff members.The Administration Division is led by Mr Christopher L. Buck.

External Relations

The External Relations Division ensures coordination among relevant Divisions and Branches of the OPCW and provides support to those aspects of the Executive Management Programme that are related to the OPCW’s external relations objectives. This division is led by Mr  Chen Kai.


The Mission of the Inspectorate Division is to implement Articles IV, V and VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention, by the efficient and effective deployment of inspection teams to member states. The Division will maintain readiness to conduct Challenge Inspections and Investigations of Alleged Use, and provide assistance to protect against the use of Chemical Weapons in accordance with Article X. This division has been led by Mr Marcelo Kós since September 2012.

Internal Oversight

The Mission of the Office of Internal Oversight (OIO) is to promote effective programme management by identifying, reporting on and proposing remedies for problems of waste, fraud, abuse and mismanagement within the OPCW. This division is led by Mr Alberto Edgardo Dojas.

International Cooperation and Assistance

The International Cooperation and Assistance Division provides States Parties with information about a variety of protective measures against chemical weapons; supplies expert advice, and assistance to a State Party, when requested, in identifying how its programmes for the development and improvement of a protective capacity against chemical weapons can be implemented; offers capacity building programmes in the areas of peaceful applications of chemistry; and, promotes the universal implementation of the Convention. Mr Hamza Khelif is the director of this division.

Office of the Legal Adviser

The Office of the Legal Adviser (LAO) provides substantive legal advice to the policy-making organs (PMO), the Director-General and the various units of the Technical Secretariat on a wide range of issues including (a) the interpretation of the Convention, the rules of procedure and the decisions of the PMO, and internal legislation (e.g. the OPCW Staff Regulations and Interim Staff Rules, the OPCW Financial Regulations and Rules, and administrative directives); (b) any appeal cases brought by staff members against the decisions of the Organisation; (c) the negotiation, conclusion and interpretation of international agreements (e.g. facility agreements, relationship agreements with other entities, privileges and immunities agreements); (d)  commercial matters such as the negotiation and conclusion of contracts for the procurement of goods and services; (e) any other matters, as requested by the Director-General or the PMO. This division is led by Mr Trevor Michael Rajah.

Secretariat for the Policy-Making Organs

The Secretariat for the Policy-Making Organs (PMO) provides support to the policy-making organs and subsidiary bodies of the OPCW, facilitating the decision-making progress and the follow-up to and implementation of decisions. This division is led by Mr Konstantin Gavrilov.

Strategy and Policy

The Office of Strategy and Policy (OSP) takes a leading role in the formulation of strategy across the Secretariat. It also provides policy advice to the Director-General and Senior Management.

OSP acts as Secretariat to the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) and the Advisory Board on Education and Outreach (ABEO) of the OPCW. It provides assistance to the OPCW Working Groups on Terrorism (OEWG-T), its Sub-Working Group on Non-State Actors (SWG) and the newly established Working Group on Future Priorities of the Organisation. Ms Veronika Stromsíková is the director of this division.


The Verification Division encompasses all main activities related to the implementation of the verification regime provided for by the Convention with a view to achieving disarmament and non-proliferation of chemical weapons. This division has been led by Mr Philippe Denier since September 2014.

To top