总干事的职责

2012年四月,总干事阿赫迈特•尤祖姆居大使(右)和加拿大大使詹姆斯•兰伯特在加拿大自愿向禁化武捐款的签字仪式上

总干事由大会根据执理会的推荐任命,每届任期四年,可连任一届,但其后不得再续。现任总干事罗赫略•菲尔特大使于2002年7月由缔约国大会任命,第一届任期四年。之后, 2005年11月10日,大会第十届会议一致核可了菲尔特大使的连任,其第二届任期为2006年7月25日至2010年7月24日。

总干事就技秘处的工作人员任命以及组织和运转对大会和执理会负责。总干事(如同其他工作人员)在执行其职务时,不得寻求或接受任何政府或除本组织以外的任何其他方面的指示。他们应避免可能影响其作为仅对大会和执理会负责的国际官员身分的任何行为。

总干事是技秘处与大会和执理会间的正式联络人。他依职权出席大会和执理会的常会和会议,并经会议主席同意,作书面报告或口头发言。总干事也负责监督技秘处向大会和执理会提供行政和技术支持。在此过程中,总干事准备大会和执理会每届常会的临时议程,并确保提请大会或执理会注意的每一个事项都已纳入议程并附有相应的文件。

总干事对于《公约》核查制度的实施负有特别责任。他负责就核查活动和《公约》的总体实施状况向执理会和大会作定期报告。总干事是所有视察任务授权书的发文者,并在质疑视察和指称使用调查中负有具体责任。

总干事在其他方面的特定职责有:禁化武组织的保密制度、样品处理、及视察员的选派。总干事也负责对科学咨询委员会的组织和运作,对《公约》相关领域的科技发展加以研究。

Duties of the Director-General

Director-General, Ambassador Ahmet Üzümcü (right) and Canadian Ambassador James Lambert at the signing ceremony for Canada's voluntary contribution to the OPCW in April 2012.

The Director-General is appointed by the Conference, upon the recommendation of the Council, for a term of four years. The term of office of a particular Director-General may be renewed for one additional term, but not thereafter. The current Director-General, Ambassador Ahmet Üzümcü, was appointed by the Conference of the States Parties H.E. in December 2009 by the 14th Session of the Conference of the States Parties and began his four-year term of office on 25 July 2010.

The Director-General is responsible to the Conference and to the Council for the appointment of staff, and the organisation and functioning of the Secretariat. In the performance of his or her duties, the Director-General (like staff members) must not seek or receive instructions from any Government or from any other source external to the Organisation, and must refrain from any action that might reflect on his or her position as an officer responsible only to the Conference and the Council.

The Director-General is the official interface between the Secretariat and the Conference and the Council. He or she may attend sessions and meetings of the Conference and the Council ex officio, and may, with the approval of the presiding officer, make written or oral statements to any such session or meeting. The Director-General also oversees the administrative and technical support provided to the Conference and the Council. In this regard, the Director General prepares the provisional agenda for the sessions and meetings of the Conference and the Council, and ensures that each matter drawn to the attention of the Conference or the Council or proposed for inclusion in their agendas, is accompanied by appropriate documentation.

The Director-General has special responsibilities in relation to the implementation of the Convention's verification regime. He is charged with preparing periodic reports to the Council and the Conference on verification activities and on the status of implementation of the Convention as a whole. The Director-General is the originator of all inspection mandates, and has specific responsibilities in relation to challenge inspections and investigations of alleged use.

Other areas of particular responsibility for the Director-General include the OPCW's confidentiality regime, the handling of samples, and the designation of inspectors. The Director-General is also responsible for the organisation and functioning of the Scientific Advisory Board, which reviews scientific and technological developments relevant to the Convention.

Upcoming

86th Session of the Executive Council:
10 - 13 October 2017