Technical Secretariat



OPCW

External Relations Division S/1167/2014 17 March 2014 ENGLISH only

NOTE BY THE DIRECTOR-GENERAL

DAY OF REMEMBRANCE FOR ALL VICTIMS OF CHEMICAL WARFARE 29 APRIL 2014

- 1. The Conference of the States Parties (hereinafter "the Conference') at its Tenth Session (paragraph 23.3 of C-10/5, dated 11 November 2005) decided that a memorial Day of Remembrance for All Victims of Chemical Warfare would be observed on 29 April each year—the date in 1997 on which the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") entered into force.
- 2. The commemoration will provide an opportunity to pay tribute to the victims of chemical warfare, as well as to reaffirm the commitment of the OPCW to exclude completely the possibility of the use of chemical weapons, through the implementation of the provisions of the Convention, thereby promoting the goals of peace, security, and multilateralism.
- 3. The programme for the Day of Remembrance will include the following:
 - (a) a commemorative session in the Ieper Room, including statements by H.E. Mr Sa'ad Abdul Majeed Ibrahim Al-Ali, Chairperson of the Conference, who will also chair the session; H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü, Director-General of the OPCW; H.E. Mrs Renée Jones-Bos from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands; and Mr Jozias van Aartsen, Mayor of The Hague;
 - (b) the observance of one minute of silence at the memorial site;
 - (c) the laying of wreaths;
 - (d) the unveiling of the Halabja monument, commemorating the victims of the attack with chemical weapons on the city of Halabja; and
 - (e) a reception.
- 4. The invitees will include representatives of States Parties to the Convention, the Government of the Host Country, the Municipality of The Hague, non-governmental and international organisations, and a delegation of students from various international schools located in The Hague.
- 5. Additional information may be obtained from the Protocol and Visa Branch. The contact person is Mr Rutger van den Hoven, Head of Protocol and Visa, who can be reached at +31 (0)70 416 3772.

Annex: Programme

S/1167/2014 Annex page 2

Annex

|--|

Day of Remembrance for All Victims of Chemical Warfare Tuesday, 29 April 2014 14:00 – 15:45

PROGRAMME

14:00 – 14:15 Arrival	Invitees arrive at the main entrance of the OPCW Headquarters building.
	Musical accompaniment during the entrance of the invitees.
14:15 – 14:45 Commemoration	The Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties opens the commemoration in the Ieper Room.
	The following will address the session:
	 H.E. Mr Sa'ad Abdul Majeed Ibrahim Al-Ali, Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties; H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü, Director-General of the OPCW; H.E. Mrs Renée Jones-Bos, Secretary-General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, and Mr Jozias van Aartsen, Mayor of The Hague.
	Musical interlude
14:45 – 15:00 Visit to the Memorial Site	The Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties invites the participants to the memorial site.
	 Wreaths are laid at the monument by: 1. H.E. Mr Sa'ad Abdul Majeed Ibrahim Al-Ali; 2. H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü; 3. H.E. Mrs Renée Jones-Bos, 5. Mr Jozias van Aartsen, and 6. Delegation of students from international schools.
	A musician will play the Last Post, at the end of which one minute of silence will be observed.
	Guests are escorted to the OPCW garden.
15:00 - 15:05 Unveiling	At the Halabja monument, short statements will be made by the Ambassador of Iraq and the Director-General, followed by the unveiling.
15:05 – 15:45 Reception	H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü, Director-General, hosts the reception.
