

Technical Secretariat

External Relations Division S/1082/2013 20 March 2013 ENGLISH only

NOTE BY THE DIRECTOR-GENERAL

DAY OF REMEMBRANCE FOR ALL VICTIMS OF CHEMICAL WARFARE 29 APRIL 2013

- 1. The Conference of the States Parties (hereinafter "the Conference") at its Tenth Session (paragraph 23.3 of C-10/5, dated 11 November 2005) decided that a memorial Day of Remembrance for All Victims of Chemical Warfare would be observed on 29 April each year—the date in 1997 on which the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") entered into force.
- 2. The commemoration will provide an opportunity to pay tribute to the victims of chemical warfare, as well as to reaffirm the commitment of the OPCW to exclude completely the possibility of the use of chemical weapons, through the implementation of the provisions of the Convention, thereby promoting the goals of peace, security, and multilateralism.
- 3. The programme for the Day of Remembrance will include the following:
 - a commemorative session in the Ieper Room, including statements by H.E. Mr Peter Goosen, Chairperson of the Conference, who will also chair the session; H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü, Director-General of the OPCW; a representative from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands; and Mr Jozias van Aartsen, Mayor of The Hague;
 - (b) the observance of one minute of silence at the memorial site;
 - (c) the laying of wreaths; and
 - (d) a reception.
- 4. The invitees will include representatives of Member States of the OPCW, the Government of the Host Country, the Municipality of The Hague, non-governmental and international organisations, and a delegation of young students from various international schools located in the area of The Hague.
- 5. Additional information may be obtained from the Protocol and Visa Branch, External Relations Division. The contact person is Mr Rutger van den Hoven, Head of Protocol and Visa, who can be reached at +31 (0)70 416 3772.

Annex: Programme

Annex



Day of Remembrance for All Victims of Chemical Warfare Monday, 29 April 2013 14:00 – 15:45

PROGRAMME

14:00 – 14:15 Arrival Invitees arrive at the main entrance of the OPCW Headquarters building and are escorted by OPCW Protocol staff to the Ieper Room.

Musical accompaniment during the entrance of the invitees.

14:15 – 14:45 Commemoration

The Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties opens the commemoration in the Ieper Room.

The following will address the session:

H.E. Mr Peter Goosen, Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties; H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü, Director-General of the OPCW; a representative from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands;

Mr Jozias van Aartsen, Mayor of The Hague.

Musical interlude

14:45 – 15:00 Visit to the Memorial Site The Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties invites the participants to the memorial site.

Wreaths are laid at the monument by:

H.E. Mr Peter Goosen; H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü;

a representative from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands;

Mr Jozias van Aartsen; and

Delegation of young students from international schools.

15:00 – 15:45 Reception H.E. Mr Ahmet Üzümcü, Director-General, hosts the reception.