Technical Secretariat



External Relations Division S/827/2010 1 April 2010 ENGLISH only

NOTE BY THE DIRECTOR-GENERAL

DAY OF REMEMBRANCE FOR ALL VICTIMS OF CHEMICAL WARFARE 29 APRIL 2010

- 1. The Conference of States Parties (hereinafter "the Conference") at its Tenth Session Session (paragraph 23.3 of C-10/5, dated 11 November 2005) decided that a memorial Day of Remembrance for all Victims of Chemical Warfare would be observed on 29 April each year—the date in 1997 on which the Chemical Weapons Convention entered into force.
- 2. This commemoration will provide an opportunity to pay tribute to the victims of chemical warfare, as well as to reaffirm the commitment of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) to the elimination of the threat of chemical weapons, thereby promoting the goals of peace, security, and multilateralism.
- 3. This year, the programme for the Day of Remembrance will include the following:
 - (a) a commemorative session in the Ieper Room, including statements by H.E. Mr Vaidotas Verba, Chairperson of the Conference; H.E. Mr Rogelio Pfirter, Director-General of the OPCW; Mr Ed Kronenburg, Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands; and Mr Jozias van Aartsen, Mayor of The Hague;
 - (b) a laying of flowers at the memorial site; and
 - (c) a reception.
- 4. The invitees will include representatives from the Member States of the OPCW, from the Government of the Host Country, from the Municipality of The Hague, from non-governmental and international organisations, and a delegation of young students from the various international schools located in the area of The Hague.
- 5. Additional information may be obtained from the Protocol and Visa Branch, External Relations Division. The contact person is Ms Milijana Danevska, who can be reached at +31 (0)70 416 3772.

Annex: Programme

Annex



Day of Remembrance for All Victims of Chemical Warfare Thursday, 29 April 2010 14:00 – 15:45

PROGRAMME

14:00 – 14:15 Arrival Invitees arrive at the main entrance of the OPCW building and will be escorted by the OPCW protocol staff to the Ieper Room.

Musical accompaniment during the entrance of the invitees

14:15 – 14:45 Commemorative Session The Chairman of the Conference opens the commemorative session in the Ieper Room.

The following will address the session:

H.E. Mr Vaidotas Verba, Chairman of the Conference H.E. Mr Rogelio Pfirter, Director-General of the OPCW

Mr Ed Kronenburg, Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands

Mr Jozias van Aartsen, Mayor of The Hague

Musical interlude

14:45 – 15:00 Visit to the Memorial Site The Chairman of the Conference invites the participants to the memorial site.

H.E. Mr Vaidotas Verba, H.E. Mr Rogelio Pfirter, Mr Ed Kronenburg, Mr Jozias van Aartsen, and the delegation of young students from international schools in The Hague will lay flowers at the memorial site.

The Chairman of the Conference announces the end of the visit to the memorial site and invites the participants to the reception in the Delegates' Lounge of the OPCW.

15:00 – 15:45 Reception H.E. Mr Rogelio Pfirter, Director-General, hosts the reception.