

OPCW

Conference of the States Parties

Eighth Session 20 – 24 October 2003

C-8/4/Rev.1 14 November 2003 Original: ENGLISH

REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE ON THE CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE EIGHTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

1. Introduction

The Credentials Committee, consisting of Austria, Cameroon, Cuba, Czech Republic, Jordan, Namibia, Pakistan, Portugal, Ukraine, and Uruguay, met under the leadership of its Chairperson, Mrs Rita Guerra of Portugal, at 15:00 on Wednesday, 22 October 2003.

2. Examination of credentials

- 2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 22 October 2003, concerning the presentation of credentials by Member States wishing to participate in the Eighth Session of the Conference of the States Parties. The Credentials Committee examined the credentials themselves, and verified the facts stated in the memorandum, which are as follows:
 - (a) Originals of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 96 Member States:

Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, and Viet Nam.

(b) Faxes or copies of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 21 Member States:

Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bolivia, Cameroon, Eritrea, Ghana, Mongolia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Republic of Moldova, Senegal, Sudan, Tonga, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Yemen, and Zambia.

2.2 The Credentials Committee was of the view that representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above should be permitted to participate provisionally in the Conference, pending the submission of the original versions of their credentials.

3. Report and recommendations to the Conference

- 3.1 Based on the foregoing, the Credentials Committee decided to report to the Conference that the credentials of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above were in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, and to recommend that the Conference:
 - (a) accept outright the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(a) above; and
 - (b) provisionally accept the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above, pending the submission of the original versions.
- 3.2 The Credentials Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.

---0---