

Conference of the States Parties

Twelfth Session 5 – 9 November 2007

C-12/4* 8 November 2007

Original: ENGLISH

REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE ON THE CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE TWELFTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

1. Introduction

The Credentials Committee, consisting of Austria, Bulgaria, Cuba, Czech Republic, Guatemala, Finland, Namibia, Morocco, Sri Lanka, and Thailand, met under the leadership of its Chairperson, H.E. Ms Carla María Rodríguez Mancia of Guatemala, on Thursday, 8 November at 14:30.

2. Examination of credentials

- 2.1 The Credentials Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 8 November 2007, concerning the presentation of credentials by Member States wishing to participate in the Twelfth Session of the Conference of the States Parties (hereinafter "the Conference"). The Credentials Committee examined the credentials themselves, and verified the facts stated in the memorandum, which are as follows:
 - (a) Originals of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties, were received from the following 83 Member States:

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Yemen, and Zambia.

^{*} Reissued for technical reasons

(b) Faxes or copies of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties, had been received from the following 24 Member States:

Afghanistan, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Brunei Darussalam, China, Ecuador, Gabon, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Rwanda, Slovenia, Sudan, Tunisia, and Uzbekistan.

2.2 The Credentials Committee was of the view that representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above should be permitted to participate provisionally in the Conference, pending the submission of the original versions of their credentials.

3. Report and recommendations to the Conference of the States Parties

- 3.1 Based on the foregoing, the Credentials Committee decided to report to the Conference that the credentials of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above were in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties, and to recommend that the Conference:
 - (a) accept outright the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(a) above; and
 - (b) provisionally accept the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above, pending the submission of the original versions.
- 3.2 The Credentials Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.

---0---