

# **OPCW**

# **Conference of the States Parties**

Eleventh Session 5 – 8 December 2006

C-11/3 7 December 2006

Original: ENGLISH

# REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE ON THE CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE ELEVENTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

#### 1. Introduction

The Credentials Committee, consisting of Austria, Bolivia, Cameroon, Croatia, Ecuador, Finland, Namibia, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, and Slovakia, met under the leadership of its Chairperson, H.E. Mr Frane Krnić of Croatia, on Thursday, 7 December at 14:30.

## 2. Examination of credentials

- The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 7 December 2006, concerning the presentation of credentials by Member States wishing to participate in the Eleventh Session of the Conference of the States Parties (hereinafter "the Conference"). The Credentials Committee examined the credentials themselves, and verified the facts stated in the memorandum, which are as follows:
  - (a) Originals of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 95 Member States:

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

(b) Faxes or copies of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 26 Member States:

Afghanistan, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Cameroon, Cuba, El Salvador, France, Georgia, Ghana, Honduras, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Pakistan, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Singapore, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, and Trinidad and Tobago.

2.2 The Credentials Committee was of the view that representatives of the Member States listed in subparagraph 2.1(b) above should be permitted to participate provisionally in the Conference, pending the submission of the original versions of their credentials.

### 3. Report and recommendations to the Conference

- 3.1 Based on the foregoing, the Credentials Committee decided to report to the Conference that the credentials of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above were in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, and to recommend that the Conference:
  - (a) accept outright the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in subparagraph 2.1(a) above; and
  - (b) provisionally accept the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in subparagraph 2.1(b) above, pending the submission of the original versions.
- 3.2 The Credentials Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.

---0---