

**OPCW** 

S/2226/2023 17 November 2023 Original: ENGLISH

## NOTE BY THE TECHNICAL SECRETARIAT

## STATUS OF SUBMISSION OF ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING ANTICIPATED ACTIVITIES AT SCHEDULE 2 AND 3 PLANT SITES IN 2024

- 1. Paragraph 8 of Article VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention (the Convention) states that "[e]ach State Party shall make annual declarations regarding the relevant chemicals and facilities in accordance with the Verification Annex".
- 2. Part VII of the Verification Annex to the Convention covers the regime for Schedule 2 chemicals and facilities related to them. According to subparagraph 4(c) of that Part, each State Party shall submit annual declarations on anticipated activities "not later than 60 days before the beginning of the following calendar year".
- 3. Subparagraph 4(c) of Part VIII of the Verification Annex requires the same of each State Party for plant sites producing Schedule 3 chemicals.
- 4. The deadline for the submission of these declarations for 2024 was thus 1 November 2023. The States Parties listed in the table below met that deadline.
- 5. In addition, a number of States Parties submitted "nil" declarations on anticipated activities at Schedule 2 and 3 plant sites by the deadline, informing the Technical Secretariat that they anticipate no declarable activities in this regard. All these States Parties are also listed in the table below and are denoted with an asterisk (\*).

## TABLE:STATES PARTIES THAT MET THE DEADLINE FOR THE<br/>SUBMISSION OF THEIR ANNUAL DECLARATIONS<br/>REGARDING ANTICIPATED ACTIVITIES AT SCHEDULE 2<br/>AND 3 PLANT SITES IN 2024

State Party	
1.	Algeria <sup>*</sup>
2.	Argentina
3.	Australia
4.	Austria
5.	Belarus
6.	Brazil
7.	Bulgaria
8.	Canada
9.	China
10.	Czech Republic
11.	Denmark
12.	Finland

State Party		
13.	France	
14.	Georgia	
15.	Germany	
16.	Hungary	
17.	India	
18.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	
19.	Italy	
20.	Japan	
21.	Latvia*	
22.	Malaysia	
23.	Mexico	
24.	Netherlands	
25.	Norway	
26.	Poland	
27.	Qatar*	
28.	Republic of Korea	
29.	Russian Federation	
30.	Saudi Arabia	
31.	Singapore	
32.	Slovakia*	
33.	Slovenia	
34.	South Africa	
35.	Spain	
36.	Sri Lanka <sup>*</sup>	
37.	Sweden	
38.	Switzerland	
39.	Türkiye	
40.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	
41.	United States of America	

---0---