

OPCW

S/2216/2023 11 October 2023 Original: ENGLISH

NOTE BY THE TECHNICAL SECRETARIAT

STATUS OF SUBMISSION OF ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION IN 2024 AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES

- 1. Paragraph 8 of Article VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") states that "[e]ach State Party shall make annual declarations regarding the relevant chemicals and facilities in accordance with the Verification Annex".
- 2. Part VI of the Verification Annex to the Convention (hereinafter "the Verification Annex") covers the regime for Schedule 1 chemicals and the facilities related to them. Paragraphs 16 and 20 of Part VI set out the requirements for declaring projected activities and anticipated production at those facilities.
- 3. According to paragraph 16 of Part VI of the Verification Annex, "[e]ach State Party producing Schedule 1 chemicals at a single small-scale facility shall make a detailed annual declaration regarding the projected activities and the anticipated production at the facility for the coming year". Paragraph 16 further requires that the "declaration shall be submitted not less than 90 days before the beginning of that year".
- 4. The same declaration requirements also apply to each State Party producing Schedule 1 chemicals at other facilities referred to in paragraphs 10 and 11 of Part VI of the Verification Annex as specified in paragraph 20.
- 5. The deadline for the submission of annual declarations regarding projected activities and anticipated production at Schedule 1 facilities in 2024 was 2 October 2023. A total of 23 out of 24 States Parties with previously declared Schedule 1 facilities met that deadline. All States Parties that submitted information on Schedule 1 anticipated activities on time are listed in the table on the next page.

STATES PARTIES THAT MET THE DEADLINE FOR THE SUBMISSION OF THEIR ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES IN 2024

1.	Australia
2.	Austria
3.	Belgium
4.	Canada
5.	China
6.	Czech Republic
7.	Finland
8.	France
9.	India
10.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
11.	Japan
12.	Netherlands
13.	Norway
14.	Pakistan
15.	Republic of Korea
16.	Singapore
17.	Slovakia
18.	South Africa
19.	Spain
20.	Sweden
21.	Switzerland
22.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
23.	United States of America
