

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The OPCW – The Hague Award

Deadline – 1 October

The deadline for applications and nominations for the OPCW-The Hague Award is 1 October 2022. All nominations must be submitted online at <u>https://www.opcw.org/opcw-hague-award</u>. An e-mail message confirming receipt of the submission will be sent after the deadline.

Successful applicants and nominees will be informed of the Selection Panel's decision and invited to attend the award ceremony, to take place during the Twenty-Seventh Session of the OPCW Conference of the States Parties to be held from 28 November to 2 December 2022 in The Hague, the Netherlands.

Eligibility Criteria

1. Citizens of OPCW States Parties and not-for-profit, non-governmental organisations registered in any OPCW Member State are eligible to apply or be nominated.

2. Applications can be submitted by eligible individuals/organisations or by a third party, acting as nominator.

3. Nominators may include the following entities:

a) Members of national assemblies and government institutions of Member States (including National Authorities)

- b) Permanent Representations to the OPCW
- c) Members of intergovernmental, international and regional organisations
- d) Academic institutions
- e) Civil society organisations
- f) Past recipients of the Award
- g) Chemical industry associations
- h) Self-nominations (backed by at least two references from the above categories)

5. Young professionals must either be nominated by an eligible nominator, or must have their self-nomination supported by at least two references from the category of eligible nominators.

6. The applicants or nominees should have contributed to one or more of the following areas, or a related aspect under the Convention:



- a) Promoting the successful conclusion of the Convention
- b) Eliminating chemical weapons
- c) Preventing the re-emergence of chemical weapons
- d) Supporting national implementation of the Convention
- e) Promoting chemistry for peaceful purposes
- f) Preventing the threat of chemical terrorism
- g) Ensuring preparedness for chemical incidents and emergencies
- h) Promoting universality and awareness of the Convention
- i) Supporting victims of chemical weapons

7. Current personnel of the OPCW Technical Secretariat and Delegations of Member States to the Organisation are not eligible to apply or be nominated for the Award.

8. Former personnel of the OPCW Technical Secretariat who have completed three years following their separation from the Organisation are eligible. The same three-year rule shall apply to former personnel of Member States' Delegations to the Organisation.

The Selection Panel

A panel composed of the following members (Ex Officio) will select the winner(s) of the Award:

- Director-General of the OPCW (Chair)
- Chairperson of the OPCW Executive Council
- Mayor of The Hague
- President of the International Council of Chemical Associations (ICCA)
- President of International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)

The Panel reserves the right to select one to three awardees, or none at all.

The Selection Panel will be assisted by a Secretary from the Technical Secretariat of the OPCW. In discharging its duties, the Panel may draw upon the expertise of the Technical Secretariat personnel or external experts, as appropriate.

---0---