

S/2004/2021 16 November 2021 Original: ENGLISH

## NOTE BY THE TECHNICAL SECRETARIAT

## STATUS OF SUBMISSION OF ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING ANTICIPATED ACTIVITIES AT SCHEDULE 2 AND 3 PLANT SITES IN 2022

- 1. Paragraph 8 of Article VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") states that "[e]ach State Party shall make annual declarations regarding the relevant chemicals and facilities in accordance with the Verification Annex".
- 2. Part VII of the Verification Annex to the Convention (hereinafter "the Verification Annex") covers the regime for Schedule 2 chemicals and facilities related to them. According to subparagraph 4(c) of that Part, each State Party shall submit annual declarations on anticipated activities "not later than 60 days before the beginning of the following calendar year".
- 3. Subparagraph 4(c) of Part VIII of the Verification Annex requires the same of each State Party for plant sites producing Schedule 3 chemicals.
- 4. The deadline for the submission of these declarations for 2022 was thus 1 November 2021. The States Parties listed in the table below met that deadline.
- 5. In addition, a number of States Parties submitted "nil" declarations on anticipated activities at Schedule 2 and 3 plant sites by the deadline, informing the Technical Secretariat that they anticipate no declarable activities in this regard. All these States Parties are also listed in the table below and are denoted with an asterisk (\*).

## STATES PARTIES THAT MET THE DEADLINE FOR THE SUBMISSION OF THEIR ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING ANTICIPATED ACTIVITIES AT SCHEDULE 2 AND 3 PLANT SITES IN 2022

State Party		
1.	Algeria*	
2.	Andorra*	
3.	Argentina	
4.	Australia	
5.	Austria	
6.	Belgium	
7.	Brazil	
8.	Bulgaria	
9.	Canada	

State Party		
10.	China	
11.	Czech Republic	
12.	Denmark	
13.	France	
14.	Georgia	
15.	Germany	
16.	India	
17.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	
18.	Italy	
19.	Japan	
20.	Latvia*	
21.	Malaysia	
22.	Mexico	
23.	Netherlands	
24.	Norway	
25.	Poland	
26.	Portugal	
27.	Republic of Korea	
28.	Russian Federation	
29.	Saudi Arabia	
30.	Serbia*	
31.	Singapore*	
32.	Slovakia*	
33.	Slovenia	
34.	South Africa	
35.	Spain	
36.	Sweden	
37.	Switzerland	
38.	Thailand	
39.	Turkey	
40.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	
41.	United States of America	