

Executive Council

Ninety-Fourth Session 7 – 9 July 2020

EC-94/NAT.53 7 July 2020 ENGLISH only

JOINT STATEMENT

BY BOLIVIA, BRAZIL, CANADA, COLOMBIA, CHILE, GUATEMALA, HONDURAS, PARAGUAY, AND PERU AT THE NINETY-FOURTH SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

The Permanent Representations of Brazil, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Guatemala, Honduras, Paraguay, and Peru, members of the Lima Group, reiterate that our countries do not recognise the illegitimate regime of Nicolás Maduro in Venezuela, in line with previous Declarations of the Lima Group and pursuant to Resolution 1117/19 of the Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS).

In particular, we reaffirm our commitment to promote the recognition of the representatives of the government of Interim President Juan Guaidó in international organisations and in multilateral coordination mechanisms, as legitimate representatives of Venezuela.

Therefore, it is our duty to express that the participation by the current Permanent Representation of Venezuela in the Ninety-Fourth Session of the Executive Council of the OPCW should not be interpreted as a recognition by our countries of the legitimacy of the regime of Nicolás Maduro in Venezuela.

The Permanent Representations of Brazil, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Guatemala, Honduras, Paraguay, and Peru request that this statement be an official document of the Ninety-Fourth Session of the Executive Council of the OPCW and be posted on both the external server and the public website of the Organisation.

---0---