

Technical Secretariat

S/1800/2019 8 October 2019 Original: ENGLISH

NOTE BY THE TECHNICAL SECRETARIAT

STATUS OF SUBMISSION OF ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION IN 2020 AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES

- 1. Paragraph 8 of Article VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") states that "[e]ach State Party shall make annual declarations regarding the relevant chemicals and facilities in accordance with the Verification Annex".
- 2. Part VI of the Verification Annex to the Convention (hereinafter "the Verification Annex") covers the regime for Schedule 1 chemicals and the facilities related to them. Paragraphs 16 and 20 of Part VI set out the requirements for declaring projected activities and anticipated production at those facilities. According to paragraph 16, "[e]ach State Party producing Schedule 1 chemicals at a single small-scale facility shall make a detailed annual declaration regarding the projected activities and the anticipated production at the facility for the coming year". Paragraph 16 further requires that the "declaration shall be submitted not less than 90 days before the beginning of that year".
- 3. Paragraph 20 of Part VI of the Verification Annex requires the same of each State Party producing Schedule 1 chemicals at other facilities referred to in paragraphs 10 and 11 of Part VI of the Verification Annex.
- 4. The deadline for the submission of annual declarations regarding projected activities and anticipated production at Schedule 1 facilities in 2020 was 2 October 2019. A total of 22 out of 23 States Parties met that deadline. In addition, four States Parties submitted nil declarations. All of these States Parties are listed on the next page.

STATES PARTIES THAT MET THE DEADLINE FOR THE SUBMISSION OF THEIR ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES IN 2020

1.	Andorra*
2.	Australia
3.	Bangladesh*
4.	Belgium
5.	Canada
6.	China
7.	Czech Republic
8.	Finland
9.	France
10.	India
11.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
12.	Japan
13.	Netherlands
14.	Norway
15.	Pakistan
16.	Republic of Korea
17.	Singapore
18.	Slovakia
19.	South Africa
20.	Spain
21.	Sri Lanka [*]
22.	Sweden
23.	Switzerland
24.	United Arab Emirates*
25.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
26.	United States of America

---0---

_

^{*} An asterisk denotes the submission of a "nil" declaration.