

Executive Council

Ninety-First Session 9 – 12 July 2019

EC-91/NAT.36 10 July 2019 ENGLISH only

JOINT STATEMENT BY ARGENTINA, BRAZIL, CANADA, CHILE, COLOMBIA, COSTA RICA, GUATEMALA, HONDURAS, PARAGUAY, AND PERU DELIVERED BY H.E. AMBASSADOR CARLOS HERRERA PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF PERU TO THE OPCW AT THE NINETY-FIRST SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Mr Chairperson,

I allow myself to speak on behalf of the delegations of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Paraguay, and Peru, members of the Lima Group, to state that our countries do not recognise the illegitimate regime of Nicolás Maduro in Venezuela, in keeping with previous Declarations of the Lima Group and pursuant to Resolution 1117/19 of the Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS).

In particular, we reiterate our commitment to promote the recognition of the representatives of the government of the Interim President Juan Guaidó in international organisations and in multilateral coordination mechanisms, as legitimate representatives of Venezuela.

Therefore, it is my duty to express that the participation by the current Permanent Representation of Venezuela as observers in the Executive Council of the OPCW should not be interpreted as a recognition by our countries of the legitimacy of the regime of Nicolás Maduro in Venezuela.

I request that this statement be an official document of the session and posted on both the external server and the public website of the Organisation.

Thank you.

---0---