



Ninetieth Session 12 – 15 March 2019 EC-90/NAT.31 12 March 2019 ENGLISH and SPANISH only

JOINT STATEMENT BY ARGENTINA, BRAZIL, CANADA, CHILE, COLOMBIA GUATEMALA, HONDURAS, PANAMA, PARAGUAY, AND PERU DELIVERED BY H.E. AMBASSADOR CARLOS HERRERA PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF PERU TO THE OPCW AT THE NINETIETH SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Madam Chairperson,

I allow myself to speak on behalf of the delegations of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, and Peru, members of the Lima Group, to state that our countries do not recognise the illegitimate regime of Nicolás Maduro in Venezuela, as per the Declarations of the Lima Group issued on 4 January, 4 February, and 25 February, and resolution 1117/19 of the Permanent Council of the Organisation of American States (OAS).

In particular, in accordance to the Declaration of the Lima Group dated 25 February, we reiterate our commitment to promote the recognition of the representatives of the Government of interim President Juan Guaidó in international organisations and in mechanisms of multilateral coordination, as legitimate representatives of Venezuela.

As such, it is my duty to express that the participation of the current Permanent Representation of Venezuela as observers in the Executive Council of the OPCW should not be interpreted as recognition by our countries of the legitimacy of the regime of Nicolás Maduro in Venezuela.

The United States of America and Georgia have aligned themselves with this statement.

I request that this statement be considered an official document of this session and published on both the Organisation's external server and public website.

Thank you.

---0---