

Technical Secretariat

S/1687/2018 14 November 2018 ENGLISH only

NOTE BY THE DIRECTOR-GENERAL

DAY OF REMEMBRANCE FOR ALL VICTIMS OF CHEMICAL WARFARE 26 NOVEMBER 2018

- 1. The Conference of the States Parties (hereinafter "the Conference") at its Twentieth Session decided that the Day of Remembrance for All Victims of Chemical Warfare would be observed on 30 November, commencing in 2016, or, when appropriate, on the first day of the regular session of the Conference, in accordance with its decision C-20/DEC.10 (dated 3 December 2015).
- 2. The commemoration will provide an opportunity to pay tribute to the victims of chemical warfare, as well as to reaffirm the commitment of the OPCW to exclude completely the possibility of the use of chemical weapons, through the implementation of the provisions of the Chemical Weapons Convention, thereby promoting the goals of peace, security, and multilateralism.
- 3. The programme for the Day of Remembrance will include the following:
 - (a) a commemorative session in the Ieper Room, including statements by the Chairperson of the Conference, who will chair the session; the Director-General of the OPCW, H.E. Mr Fernando Arias; the Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, H.E. Ms Yoka Brandt, and the Mayor of The Hague, H.E. Ms Pauline Krikke.
 - (b) the laying of wreaths at the memorial site; and
 - (c) the observance of one minute of silence at the memorial site.
- 4. The invitees will include representatives of States Parties to the OPCW, the Government of the Host Country, the Municipality of The Hague, and international organisations.
- 5. Additional information may be obtained from Mr João Palma Fialho, Protocol Officer, who can be reached at +31 (0)70 416 3383.

Annex: Programme



Annex

Day of Remembrance for All Victims of Chemical Warfare Monday, 26 November 2018 09:00 – 09:55

PROGRAMME

08:30 - 09:00

Arrival

Invitees arrive at the main entrance of the OPCW Headquarters.

09:00 - 09:40

Commemoration

The Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties opens the commemoration in the Ieper Room.

The following will address the session:

- 1. Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties;
- 2. Director-General of the OPCW, H.E. Mr Fernando Arias;
- 3. Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, H.E. Ms Yoka Brandt; and
- 4. Mayor of The Hague, H.E. Ms Pauline Krikke.

Musical interlude

The Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties invites the participants to the memorial site.

09:45 - 09:55

Visit to the Memorial Site Wreaths are laid at the monument by:

- 1. Chairperson of the Conference of the States Parties;
- 2. Director-General of the OPCW, H.E. Mr Fernando Arias;
- 3. Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, H.E. Ms Yoka Brandt; and
- 4. Mayor of The Hague, H.E. Ms Pauline Krikke.

One minute of silence will be observed.

Guests are escorted to the Delegates' Lounge, prior to leaving the Headquarters building.

09:55

Programme concludes.