

OPCW

S/1685/2018 9 November 2018 Original: ENGLISH

NOTE BY THE TECHNICAL SECRETARIAT

STATUS OF SUBMISSION OF ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING ANTICIPATED ACTIVITIES AT SCHEDULE 2 AND 3 PLANT SITES IN 2019

- 1. Paragraph 8 of Article VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") states that "[e]ach State Party shall make annual declarations regarding the relevant chemicals and facilities in accordance with the Verification Annex".
- 2. Part VII of the Verification Annex to the Convention (hereinafter "the Verification Annex") covers the regime for Schedule 2 chemicals and facilities related to them. According to subparagraph 4(c) of that Part, each State Party shall submit annual declarations on anticipated activities "not later than 60 days before the beginning of the following calendar year".
- 3. Subparagraph 4(c) of Part VIII of the Verification Annex requires the same of each State Party for plant sites producing Schedule 3 chemicals.
- 4. The deadline for the submission of these declarations for 2019 was thus 1 November 2018. The States Parties listed below met that deadline.

STATES PARTIES THAT MET THE DEADLINE FOR THE SUBMISSION OF THEIR ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING ANTICIPATED ACTIVITIES AT SCHEDULE 2 AND 3 PLANT SITES IN 2019

State Party		
1.	Algeria*	
2.	Andorra*	
3.	Argentina	
4.	Armenia*	
5.	Australia	
6.	Austria	
7.	Belarus	
8.	Belgium	
9.	Bosnia and Herzegovina*	
10.	Brazil	
11.	Bulgaria	
12.	Canada	
13.	China	
14.	Croatia*	
15.	Czech Republic	
16.	Denmark	
17.	Ecuador*	
18.	Finland	
19.	France	
20.	Georgia	
21.	Germany	
22.	Greece*	
23.	Hungary	
24.	India	
25.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	
26.	Ireland	
27.	Italy	
28.	Japan	
29.	Kazakhstan	
30.	Latvia*	
31.	Malaysia	
32.	Mexico	
33.	Morocco*	
34.	Netherlands	
35.	Norway	
36.	Poland	
37.	Republic of Korea	
38.	Romania*	
39.	Russian Federation	
40.	Saudi Arabia	

^{*} An asterisk denotes the submission of a nil declaration.

State Party	
41.	Serbia
42.	Singapore*
43.	Slovakia*
44.	Slovenia
45.	South Africa
46.	Spain
47.	Sri Lanka*
48.	Sweden
49.	Switzerland
50.	Thailand
51.	Turkey
52.	Ukraine
53.	United Arab Emirates*
54.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
55.	United States of America
56.	Viet Nam*

---0---