

Technical Secretariat

Verification Division S/1133/2013 21 October 2013 Original: ENGLISH

NOTE BY THE TECHNICAL SECRETARIAT

STATUS OF SUBMISSION OF ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION IN 2014 AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES

- 1. Paragraph 8 of Article VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") states that "[e]ach State Party shall make annual declarations regarding the relevant chemicals and facilities in accordance with the Verification Annex".
- 2. Part VI of the Verification Annex to the Convention (hereinafter "the Verification Annex") covers the regime for Schedule 1 chemicals and the facilities related to them. Paragraphs 16 and 20 of that Part set out the requirements for declaring projected activities and anticipated production at these facilities. According to paragraph 16, "Each State Party producing Schedule 1 chemicals at a single small-scale facility shall make a detailed annual declaration regarding the projected activities and the anticipated production at the facility for the coming year". It further requires that "the declaration shall be submitted not less than 90 days before the beginning of that year".
- 3. Paragraph 20 of Part VI of the Verification Annex requires the same of each State Party producing Schedule 1 chemicals at other facilities referred to in paragraphs 10 and 11 of Part VI of the Verification Annex.
- 4. The deadline for the submission of these declarations for 2014 was 2 October 2013. Of 22 States Parties with declarable Schedule 1 facilities and activities, 19 States Parties met that deadline. In addition, one State Party submitted a "nil" declaration. The States Parties that met the deadline are listed on the next page.

STATES PARTIES THAT MET THE DEADLINE FOR THE SUBMISSION OF THEIR ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION IN 2014 AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES

State Party	
1.	Australia
2.	Belgium
3.	Canada
4.	China
5.	Cuba [*]
6.	Czech Republic
7.	Finland
8.	France
9.	India
10.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
11.	Japan
12.	Netherlands
13.	Singapore
14.	Slovakia
15.	South Africa
16.	Spain
17.	Sweden
18.	Switzerland
19.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
20.	United States of America

---0---

^{*} An asterisk denotes the submission of a "nil" declaration.