

## **Technical Secretariat**

Verification Division S/713/2008 10 October 2008 Original: ENGLISH

## NOTE BY THE TECHNICAL SECRETARIAT

## STATUS OF ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION IN 2009 AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES

- 1. Paragraph 8 of Article VI of the Chemical Weapons Convention (hereinafter "the Convention") states that each State Party "shall make annual declarations regarding the relevant chemicals and facilities" in accordance with the Verification Annex to the Convention (hereinafter "the Verification Annex").
- 2. Part VI of the Verification Annex covers the regime for Schedule 1 chemicals and the facilities related to them. Paragraphs 16 and 20 of that Part set out the requirements for declaring projected activities and anticipated production at these facilities. According to paragraph 16, "Each State Party producing Schedule 1 chemicals at a single small-scale facility shall make a detailed annual declaration regarding the projected activities and the anticipated production at the facility for the coming year." It further requires that "the declaration shall be submitted not less than 90 days before the beginning of that year".
- 3. Paragraph 20 of Part VI of the Verification Annex requires the same of each State Party for each facility producing Schedule 1 chemicals in quantities not exceeding 10kg per year for protective purposes, or in quantities of more than 100g per year for medical, pharmaceutical, or research purposes.
- 4. The deadline for the submission of these declarations for 2009 was thus 2 October 2008. The States Parties listed on the next page met that deadline.

## STATES PARTIES THAT MET THE DEADLINE FOR THE SUBMISSION OF THEIR ANNUAL DECLARATIONS REGARDING PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND ANTICIPATED PRODUCTION IN 2009 AT SCHEDULE 1 FACILITIES

State Party	
1.	Australia
2.	Canada
3.	China
4.	Cuba*
5.	Czech Republic
6.	Finland
7.	France
8.	India
9.	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
10.	Japan
11.	Republic of Korea
12.	Netherlands
13.	Norway
14.	Serbia*
15.	Singapore
16.	South Africa
17.	Spain
18.	Switzerland
19.	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
20.	United States of America

---0---

<sup>\*</sup> An asterisk denotes the submission of a nil declaration.