

OPCW

Conference of the States Parties

Fifth Session 15 - 19 May 2000 C-V/4 19 May 2000 Original: ENGLISH

CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE FIFTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

Report of the Credentials Committee

1. Introduction

- 1.1 On 16 May 2000, upon the proposal of the Chairman of the Conference, in accordance with Rule 27 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties, the Conference appointed the following 10 Member States as members of the Credentials Committee for the Fifth Session: Bangladesh, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Namibia, the Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Ukraine and Uruguay.
- 1.2 The Committee met on 18 May 2000 and elected His Excellency Mr Y.L.M. Zawahir of Sri Lanka as its Chairman.
- 1.3 During its meeting, the Committee reviewed Chapter IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference and noted in particular the following elements of Rule 26:
 - (a) credentials designate the representative of a Member State in a given session of the Conference;
 - (b) the credentials of each representative shall be submitted to the Director-General; and
 - (c) credentials shall be issued by the head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Member State concerned or by any other authority acting on their behalf.

2. Examination of credentials

2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 17 May 2000, concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States participating in the Fifth Session of the Conference. On the basis of that memorandum, as of 17 May 2000, the Committee determined the following:

- (a) formal credentials meeting the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, were submitted by 69 Member States: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lithuania, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uzbekistan; and
- (b) faxes or copies of formal credentials or other official communications concerning representatives were received from the following 39 Member States: Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, El Salvador, Eritrea, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Paraguay, Philippines, Senegal, Singapore, Sudan, Suriname, Togo, Uruguay, Venezuela, Viet Nam and Zimbabwe. In accordance with Rule 28 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, the representatives of these Member States are participating provisionally in the Fifth Session pending the submission of credentials satisfying the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference.
- 2.2 The Committee agreed that the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above would be accepted, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraph 2.1(b) would be communicated to the Director-General as soon as possible.

3. Recommendation

The Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.