

OPCW

Conference of the States Parties

Fourth Session 28 June - 2 July 1999 Agenda Item 17(d) C-IV/2 1 July 1999

Original: ENGLISH

CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE FOURTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

Report of the Credentials Committee

1. Introduction

- 1.1 On 29 June 1999, upon the proposal of the Chairman of the Conference, in accordance with Rule 27 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties (C-I/3), the Conference appointed the following 10 Member States as members of the Credentials Committee for the Fourth Session: Australia, Benin, Croatia, Cuba, Morocco, New Zealand, Oman, Romania, Sri Lanka and Venezuela.
- 1.2 The Committee met on 1 July 1999 and elected His Excellency Mr Nacer Benjelloun-Touimi of Morocco as its Chairman.
- 1.3 During its meeting, the Committee reviewed Chapter IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference and noted in particular the following elements of Rule 26:
 - (a) credentials designate the representative of a Member State in a given session of the Conference;
 - (b) the credentials of each representative shall be submitted to the Director-General; and
 - (c) credentials shall be issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Member State concerned, or by any other authority acting on their behalf.

2. Examination of credentials

2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 30 June 1999, concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States participating in the Fourth Session of the Conference. On the basis of that memorandum, as of 30 June 1999, the Committee determined the following:

- (a) formal credentials meeting the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, were submitted by 79 Member States: Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Venezuela and Viet Nam;
- (b) faxes or copies of formal credentials or other official communications concerning representatives were received from the following 19 Member States: Albania, Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Ethiopia, Georgia, Iceland, Kuwait, Lesotho, Mongolia, Nigeria, Republic of Moldova, Senegal, Sudan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Uzbekistan and Zimbabwe. In accordance with Rule 28 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, the representatives of these Member States are participating provisionally in the Fourth Session pending the submission of credentials satisfying the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference.
- 2.2 The Committee agreed that the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above would be accepted, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraph 2.1(b) would be communicated to the Director-General as soon as possible.

3. Recommendation

The Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.