

OPCW

Seventh Session 7 - 11 October 2002 C-7/4 10 October 2002 Original: ENGLISH

# CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE SEVENTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

## **Report of the Credentials Committee**

#### 1. Introduction

- 1.1 On 7 October 2002, upon the proposal of the Chairman of the Conference, in accordance with Rule 27 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference of the States Parties (C-I/3, dated 23 May 1997), the Conference appointed the following 10 Member States as members of the Credentials Committee for the Seventh Session: Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Cameroon, Colombia, Finland, Kuwait, Republic of Korea, Romania and Slovakia.
- 1.2 The Committee met on 10 October 2002 and elected Mrs Maria Dulce Silva Barros of Brazil as its Chair.
- 1.3 During its meeting the Committee reviewed Chapter IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference and noted in particular the following elements of Rule 26:
  - (a) credentials designate the representative of a Member State in a given session of the Conference;
  - (b) the credentials of each representative shall be submitted to the Director-General; and
  - (c) credentials shall be issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Member State concerned or by any other authority acting on their behalf.

### 2. Examination of credentials

2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 10 October 2002, concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States participating in the Seventh Session of the Conference. On the basis of that memorandum, as of 10 October 2002, the Committee determined the following:

(a) formal credentials, meeting the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, were submitted by 84 Member States:

Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Yemen and Yugoslavia;

(b) faxes or copies of formal credentials or other official communications concerning representatives were received from 22 Member States:

Armenia, Bolivia, Botswana, Cameroon, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Iceland, Ireland, Malaysia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sri Lanka, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Zimbabwe.

In accordance with Rule 28 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, the representatives of these Member States are participating provisionally in the Seventh Session pending the submission of credentials satisfying the requirements of Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference.

2.2 The Committee agreed that the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above would be accepted, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the Member States referred to in subparagraph 2.1(b) would be communicated to the Director-General as soon as possible.

#### **3.** Recommendation

The Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.

---0---