

OPCW

Thirteenth Session 2 – 5 December 2008 C-13/3 4 December 2008 Original: ENGLISH

## REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE ON THE CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE THIRTEENTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE STATES PARTIES

## 1. Introduction

The Credentials Committee, consisting of Afghanistan, Argentina, Bolivia, Finland, Kenya, Morocco, Portugal, Slovenia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, and the United Arab Emirates, met under the leadership of its Chairperson, H.E. Mr Mikko Jokela, Representative of Finland, on Thursday, 4 December at 14:50.

## 2. Examination of credentials

- 2.1 The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Director-General, dated 4 December 2008, concerning the presentation of credentials by Member States wishing to participate in the Thirteenth Session of the Conference of the States Parties (hereinafter "the Conference"). The Credentials Committee examined the credentials themselves, and verified the facts stated in the memorandum, which are as follows:
  - (a) Originals of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 96 Member States:

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Yemen, and Zimbabwe. (b) Faxes or copies of credentials, in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, had been received from the following 27 Member States:

Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Botswana, Cambodia, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Gabon, Honduras, Jamaica, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Madagascar, Mauritius, Nepal, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Thailand, Togo, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, and Zambia.

2.2 The Credentials Committee was of the view that representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above should be permitted to participate provisionally in the Conference, pending the submission of the original versions of their credentials.

## **3.** Report and recommendations to the Conference

- 3.1 Based on the foregoing, the Credentials Committee decided to report to the Conference that the credentials of the Member States referred to in subparagraphs 2.1(a) and 2.1(b) above were in the form required by Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, and to recommend that the Conference:
  - (a) accept outright the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(a) above; and
  - (b) provisionally accept the credentials of representatives of the Member States listed in 2.1(b) above, pending the submission of the original versions.
- 3.2 The Credentials Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference and recommended that the Conference approve it.

---0---