البرلمانيون

لقاء المدير العام مع وزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغي لافروف في روسيا.

ويمكن للبرلمانات أن تلعب دورا حاسما في تنفيذ الاتفاقية من خلال النظر والموافقة على تشريع وطني شامل، مما يسمح للسلطات في الدول الأعضاء لتنفيذ أحكام اتفاقية الأسلحة الكيميائية بشكل كامل وفعال. و تلعب أيضا البرلمانات  دورا هاما في الرقابة لضمان تنفيذ أحكام الاتفاقية على الصعيد الوطني. 

الوقاية من الإرهاب الكيميائي

التنفيذ الكامل والفعال لاتفاقية حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية شرط أساسي للأمن الوطني والدولي، لأنها تتيح للدول الأطراف ردع ومنع أي محاولة لاستخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية او ما يسبب خسائر بشرية كبيرة.

على الرغم من أن منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية ليست وكالة لمكافحة الإرهاب، انما تستطيع المساهمة بفعالية في الكفاح الدولي ضد الإرهاب الكيميائي على الشكل التالي:

    • يعلن أي نشاط صناعي ذات الصلة؛
    • سن تشريعات لمراقبة الصناعة والتجارة المواد الكيميائية السامة.
    • تقييد الوصول إلى بعض المواد الكيميائية إلى الدول الأعضاء بالمنظمة.
    • خلق القدرات الإدارية لكشف وملاحقة أي خرق للحظر.
    • سن تشريعات لجعل أي خرق جريمة خطيرة والسماح للمحاكمة والعقاب. و،
    • وضع تدابير الحماية المدنية.

الأمم المتحدة مساهمة

إن تنفيذ الاتفاقية بصورة كاملة شرط أساسي لضمان أمن كل دولة والأمن الدولي الجماعي. فتنفيذ هذه الاتفاقية بصورة كاملة وفعالة يمكّن الدول الأطراف من ردع ومنع أي مسعى لاستعمال الأسلحة الكيميائية بغية إيقاع الإضرار بالبشر وإحداث تعطيل شامل.

وليست منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية وكالة لمكافحة الإرهاب، لكن الاتفاقية تحتوي عددا من العناصر التي من شأنها الإسهام الفعال في مكافحة الإرهاب الكيميائي على النطاق الدولي.

وقد اعترفت الأمم المتحدة بإسهام الاتفاقية في منع الإرهاب الكيميائي. ففي عام 2004، اعتمد مجلس الأمن القرار 1540 الذي ينص على وجوب امتناع الدول عن تقديم أي شكل من أشكال الدعم إلى جهات غير تابعة للدول تحاول استحداث أسلحة دمار شامل أو احتيازها أو صنعها أو امتلاكها أو حملها أو نقلها.

والقرار 1540 هذا هو قرار يلزم جميع الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة، سواء كانت أعضاء في منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية أم لم تكن، بوضع وإنفاذ كل ما يلزم من الضوابط الداخلية للحيلولة دون وصول الإرهابيين إلى هذه الأسلحة أو إلى سلائفها.

وفي عام 2006 اعتمدت الأمم المتحدة استراتيجيتها العالمية لمكافحة الإرهاب. وهذه الاستراتيجية تشجع منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيميائية على مواصلة بذل جهودها، ضمن نطاق ولايتها، لمساعدة الدول على تكوين قدرات للحيلولة دون وصول الإرهابيين إلى المواد الكيميائية، ولضمان أمن المرافق ذات الصلة، والرد بصورة فعالة في حالة وقوع اعتداء تستخدم فيه هذه المواد.

 

 

إلي أعلى

Parliamentarians

Director-General meets with Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov in Russia.

Parliaments can play a crucial role in the implementation of the Convention by considering and approving comprehensive national legislation, thereby allowing the authorities in the Member States to implement the provisions of the CWC fully and effectively. Parliaments also play an important oversight role in ensuring that the provisions of the Convention are implemented at the national level.

Preventing Chemical Terrorism

The full and effective implementation of the CWC is an essential requirement for the national and international security as it enables States Parties to deter and prevent any effort to use chemical weapons to cause human casualties and mass disruptions.

Although OPCW is not an anti-terrorism agency, the Organisation can effectively contribute to the international struggle against chemical terrorism by:

  • declaring any relevant industrial activity;
  • enacting legislation to monitor industry and trade toxic chemicals;
  • restricting access to certain chemicals to OPCW Member States;
  • creating the administrative capacity to detect and pursue a breach of the ban;
  • enacting legislation to make any breach a serious crime and to allow for its prosecution and punishment; and,
  • establishing civil protection measures.

United Nations' Contribution

The Convention's work towards preventing chemical terrorism has also been recognised by the United Nations. In addition, the United Nations has contributed to combat chemical weapons with:

  • Resolution 1540 (2004), which stipulates that UN States Members shall refrain from providing any form of support to non-states actors that attempt to develop, acquire, manufacture, possess, transport or transfer weapons of mass destruction; and,
  • The Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy (2006), which encourages the OPCW to continue its efforts, within its mandate, to help States build capacity to prevent terrorists from accessing chemical materials, to ensure security at related facilities, and to respond effectively in the event of an attack using such materials.

Checklist for legislators

Depending on the State Party's legal system, the Convention may impact several areas of law.

Here is a list of measures and regulations to consider when implementing the Convention.