关于缔约国大会

出席第十七届缔约国大会开幕式的代表们

大会可对《公约》范围内的所有问题、事项或议题做出建议和决定。大会监督执理会和技秘处的活动,并可根据《公约》的规定就职能的行使向两者发布准则。

 

 

 

 

在本版块中:

职能

《公约》第八条第21款列出了大会应开展的具体活动,其中包括:

•  采取必要措施确保遵约;

•  方案和预算及缔约国应缴费用的比额表做出决定;

•  核准禁化武组织年度报告;

•  选举执理会成员;

•  任命总干事;

•  促进和平目的化学领域的国际合作;

•  审议科学技术发展对《公约》的可能影响。 

决策

本组织过半数成员构成大会法定人数。每一成员有一票表决权。 

对程序性问题,大会以出席并参加表决的成员的简单多数作出决定。关于实质性问题的决定,应尽可能以协商一致方式作出。若无法达成协商一致,大会主席应将表决推迟24小时,并在此期间尽力促成协商一致。

若在24小时结束后仍无法达成一致,大会可以出席并参加表决的成员的三分之二多数作出决定。若对某一问题是否属于实质性问题有争议,该问题应作为实质性问题处理,除非大会对此另有决定。

至今,绝大多数大会决定都以协商一致方式作出。

附属机构

《公约》要求大会建立以下两个附属机构:解决保密关争端委员会( “保密委员会”)和科学咨询委员会。

除上述两个《公约》授权的附属机构外,大会可根据其行使职责的需要建立必要的附属机构(第八条,第21款(f)项)。在此授权基础上,大会设立了数个委员会。

根据议事规则,每届大会常会任命一个总务委员会,处理诸如大会临时议程、增列议题的请求、委员会的设立及其任务分工等行政性或组织性事务。

全体委员会

每届常会,大会还要选举大会主席和全体委员会主席。对于大会认为作决定时机尚未成熟、需与会成员进一步磋商和讨论的议题,应通过全体委员会在大会期间进行讨论。

若全体委员会能在大会期间解决这些未决问题,则应向大会提出行动建议。在禁化武组织创立后第一年,全体委员会曾在大会休会期间继续推动解决未决问题。

但在1999年,大会将这些全体委员会职权内的未决问题交由执理会成立的向所有成员国开放的工作组来解决。

因此,尽管全体委员会在大会常会期间的角色并未改变,但其在大会休会期间解决大会未决问题的功能因此终结。这方面的职责逐渐由执理会来承担,所有成员国均可参与执理会在这方面的磋商。

全权证书委员会

此外,每届大会之初都会在大会主席的提议下任命全权证书委员会。全权证书委员会由10个成员组成,其职能是检查参加大会的所有代表的全权证书。在该委员会对与会代表的全权证书作出决定之前,与会代表可暂时参加会议。

与会代表的资格如有禁化武组织其他成员提出异议,在全权证书委员会提出报告和大会就所提异议作出决定以前,应暂准出席,并享有与其他代表同等的权利。

至顶

About the Conference of the States Parties

Delegates at the opening of the 17th Conference of the States Parties
Delegates at the opening of the 17th Conference of the States Parties.

The Conference may take recommendations and take decisions on any questions, matters or issues within the scope of the Convention. The Conference oversees the activities of the Council and the Secretariat, and may issue guidelines in accordance with the Convention to either of them in the exercise of their functions.

 

 

 

In this section:

Functions

The specific activities to be undertaken by the conference are listed in Article VIII paragraph 21. and include:

  • taking measures necessary to ensure compliance with the Convention;
  • deciding on the programme and budget and the scale of the financial contributions to be paid by States Parties;
  • approving the annual report of the Organisation;
  • electing the members of the Council;
  • appointing the Director-General;
  • fostering international cooperation for peaceful purposes in the field of chemical activities; and,
  • reviewing scientific and technological developments that could affect the Convention.

Decision Making

A majority of members of the Organisation constitutes a quorum for sessions of the Conference. Each member has one vote.

The Conference takes decisions on questions of procedure by a simple majority of members present and voting. Substantive decisions should, if possible, be taken by consensus. If consensus is not attainable, a 24-hour period of deferment is called by the Chairman of the Conference and every effort is made to facilitate consensus.

If this procedure is not successful, the Conference may take a decision by a two-thirds majority of members present and voting. If the issue arises as to whether or not a question is one of substance, that question is to be treated as a matter of substance, unless the Conference decides otherwise by the majority required for decisions on matters of substance.

So far, the majority of Conference decisions have been taken by consensus.

Subsidiary Bodies

The Convention requires the Conference to establish two subsidiary bodies: the Commission for the Settlement of Disputes related to Confidentiality (the "Confidentiality Commission") and the Scientific Advisory Board.

In addition to these two Convention-mandated subsidiary bodies, the Conference is authorised to establish such subsidiary organs as it finds necessary for the exercise of its functions (Article VIII, subparagraph 21(f)). On the basis of this authority the Conference has established several committees.

Under its rules of procedure, the Conference appoints at each session a General Committee which addresses administrative/organisational issues such as the provisional agenda for the session, requests for additional items, the establishment of committees and the allocation of tasks to them.

To top

Committee of the Whole

At each regular session, the Conference also elects the chairperson of its main committee, the Committee of the Whole. The Committee of the Whole serves as the forum for the discussion of issues which, in the estimation of the Conference, are not yet ripe for decision-making, and which accordingly require consultations and discussion involving all members in attendance at the session.

If the Committee of the Whole is able to resolve such issues, it makes recommendations for action to the Conference. In the first years of the OPCW's existence the Committee of the Whole continued to function between sessions of the Conference to consider unresolved issues.

In 1999, however, the Conference transferred all unresolved issues that had hitherto been the province of the Committee of the Whole to the Council, for consideration by the Council's working groups, which are open to all Member States.

The functioning of the Committee of the Whole as the principal intersessional forum for the resolution of unresolved issues thus came to an end, although its role during sessions of the Conference remained unchanged. Intersessional work on unresolved issues has become the ongoing responsibility of the Council, with the participation of all Member States.

Credentials Committee

In addition, the Credentials Committee is appointed at the beginning of each session of the Conference, at the proposal of the Chairman of the Conference. The Credentials Committee, which consists of ten members, is required to examine the credentials of all representatives to that Conference session. Pending a decision of the Committee on their credentials, representatives are entitled to participate provisionally in the session.

Any representative to whom another member of the OPCW has objected is seated provisionally with the same rights as other representatives until the Committee has reported, and the Conference has taken a decision on the objection.

To top

Upcoming

19th Session of the Conference of States Parties:
1 - 5 December 2014

78th Session of the Executive Council:
17 - 20 March 2015

79th Session of the Executive Council:
7 - 10 July 2015

80th Session of the Executive Council:
6 - 9 October 2015